Cake 09 – Cape leveque And Karijini Expedition

Posted: June 14, 2009 in Uncategorized

Hey,

Well I am back from West oZ where I caught up with fellow photographers Casey Smith and Flemming bo Jensen ( who now wants to be known simply as ALBERT ). What an amazing place Wa is, I have never been there before and did not even really scratch the surface of what this state has to offer as far as photography goes, but I ma sure I will get back there one day to find out more. The trip started in Broome, where Casey picked me up from the airport and stayed the night before picking Albert up the next day and heading to Cape Leveque. Cape Leveque is approx 200 klms north of Broome along mostly dirty dusty road, but our transport, Casey’s troopcarrier ( fotos of the beast will follow ) never missed a beat. We had planned on there nights here, but left after two after shooting as much as we could there and heading back into Broome for two nights. We then went via the Boreline Road towards Marble Bar, which was our last stop before going to Karijini. Marble Bar is known as the hottest place in Australia, on record for having 167 consecutive days of 40 degress temps in a row, something they seem to be quite proud of…. They had to open the office for us, at 3pm ( busy day in the Marble Bar van park ) so we could get our site…..

_MG_4966

Cape Leveque storm, WA

I managed to snap off a few shots here before heading back to our site where we got a powered site for an OUTSTANDING $30… can u believe they charged us an extra $10 because we had an extra person…. Β ! ! ! Β We then headed to Karijini for the next 6 nights… more to come about this amazing place in another post, along with some more images….. I do have to say a massive thanks to Casey, not only for having us both along ( Albert and myself ) but for driving most of the way and letting us use his car whenever we needed…. Thanks mate, I really appreciate it……

Comments
  1. Mate, I am not so sure it was me wanting to be known as Albert, it seemed I had little choice in the matter πŸ˜€

    We bought an unpowered site for $30 remember, then proceeded to park next to a power plug πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ That was outstanding!

    You really captured that OUTSTANDING storm front well, I was further down the beach shooting massively crooked horizon shots!

    Can’t wait for the painting with light images πŸ˜€

    I also again need to extend mega thanks to Casey, you are a legend mate!!!!!

  2. casey smith says:

    Hey guys, it was my pleasure to have you both along on the trip, and thank you for the kind comments. I know yo were both happy to be there with me on what was such a great trip.

    Rod wow that looks great the shot you have posted, I also shot one on the linhof and I am sending 30 rolls off today. I went to the Bungles and what a shit road, took the best part of 2 hours to get there and the road inside the park were not much better.

    Anyway I am back home in Katherine tomorrow whare I have previous films I have sent waiting for me at home, so I will fire up the Flextight and post a blog tomorrow.

    Casey πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. Tony Middleton says:

    Cool shot of the weak gustfront Rod – quite an ‘atmospheric treat’ in the sky up there at this time of the year !
    I really look forward to reading and seeing more from your trip. πŸ™‚

  4. Peter Hodgson says:

    Now thats what I call a cloud shot,….. Great stuff Rod, keep em coming.

  5. AndrΓ© says:

    Rod, that is a beautiful shot of Cape Leveque, amazing storm front.

  6. mattlauder says:

    Stunning shot Rod. Was there a time you felt like grabbing your old Linhof off Casey and running some Velvia through it.

  7. anne says:

    Amazing shot! I love it! Gond one πŸ™‚

  8. Rod Thomas says:

    Thanks for all your comments guys…….
    Matt,
    There was a moment, only brief though, where I thought to myself Id like to be using it but then I remembered the costs involved and hassle of sending film home… BUgger that, its Canon 5DMKII all the way for me now…

    Also, on another front, how do I get all my contacts back on he RH side of my blog, where have they gone ?

  9. hi Rod
    that’s one amazing storm front.
    great shot!

  10. Dylan Fox says:

    Certainly is a stunner!

  11. Kristy Barker says:

    WOW Love it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Great work Mr Rod ….

  12. Luke Austin says:

    Amazing build up there. Really well exposed. Great Blog

  13. truenorthmark says:

    I seriously like that shot Rod!

    My kinda shot for sure!!

    Cheers,

    Mark

Leave a Reply

