The Skillion

Posted: September 14, 2009 in Uncategorized

The other day I posted about me being Lazy and not shooting stuff that is virtually in my back yard ( well 45 minutes form where I live, then its an 75 minutes back up to work, and all by 8.30 ) but I had to go to the lab this morning, so I thought I would give it another shot…

skillion1At least I got some clouds this time but the colour in the sky is still not what I am hoping for…. Tony, the great image is not far away, I promise ! !

Comments
  1. Casey Smith says:

    Hi Rod, looks like a sweet place to shoot, and lets hope when I am in Sydney we get some sweet light when we go down there. Cant believe I didnt know about the place when I lived there for 5 years.

  2. Looks like a great spot Rod! Nice foreground patterns.

    In no way is Rod lazy! Anyone who gets up first bright and early in freezing Karijini and cooks us eggs and bacon is a bloody hero!

  3. Tony Middleton says:

    another nice shot Rod, I know what you mean about wanting to nail it with good light – I’ve got spots on my doortsep I have been wanting to nail for years, somehow when the light is good I’m always shooting another spot.
    The Skillion has been made photographically famous/infamous by KennyD as far as I am aware – that’s where I have seen images of it anyway.

  4. Rod Thomas says:

    Tony,
    That other bloke has got nothing, theres a new boy in town mste ( lol ). I will be back there again one day next week, so stay tuned

  5. Brent Pearson says:

    Hey Rod
    This is a great location (around the Skillion)…. Lots of great places to shoot.

    Yup, we are lucky to have a back yard that is so beautiful

    Brent

  6. rodthomas says:

    Brent,
    It is that for sure… I will see you on Saturday mate, hope we get some nice light huh.. I am going to be coming down early to shoot somewhere… where is a good place to start, your the man in Sydney ?

  7. truenorthmark says:

    Nice work Rod…how many sleeps now mate!

  8. thomasparkes says:

    Very cool shot Rod, I really like it.

  9. kirkhille says:

    nice shot Rod ,
    Looks like a great location
    would love a location like this close by

Leave a Reply

